Wisconsin State Law Library

Serving the Wisconsin Supreme Court and State of Wisconsin

Skip to content

Website Catalog

Library Highlights

July 4, 2011

New Small Claims Limits

Effective July 1, 2011, 2011 Wisconsin Act 32 (ss. 3484k-3484q) raises the limit for money judgments, replevins, attachments and garnishment actions to $10,000. It also creates a new category of small claims case - Tort/Personal Injury ($5,000 or less). Third-party complaints, personal injury claims, and tort claims may be brought up in small claims if the amount claimed is $5,000 or less.

Our Small Claims legal topic page includes links to several guides and forms from around Wisconsin, some of which may not yet be updated to reflect this new information. We have included the above information at the top of our Small Claims page for reference.

Blog Archive